2015 Moot Court Board First Year Competition Results


The final FYC Round took place on Friday, April 10 at 3:00 p.m. at the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Virginia located in Alexandria. United States District Court Judge Trenga presided, and was joined by United States District Court Judge O’Grady and Virginia Court of Appeals Judge Alston. Dean Polsby attended the final round, as did the majority of the first-year day students. After excellent performances by both finalists, the Court named Vivek Subramanyam as the Moot Court Board First Year Competition Champion. Congratulations to Champion, Vivek Subramanyam and Finalist, Michael Galgano!

2015 GAI Invitational Moot Court Competition Results

The 2015 GAI Invitational was a resounding success. The competition featured five current or former FTC Commissioners, including current Chairwoman Edith Ramirez, and former Chairmen Tim Muris and Jon Liebowtiz. The DOJ was also well represented, with three current or former Assistant Attorneys General for Antitrust judging for the competition. The competitors were outstanding, and the results are below.

Champions: Matthew Hale, David Lee Johnson, and Kyle Virtue, Washington & Lee University School of Law
Finalists: Bradley Crocker, Areesha Muzaffar, and Kevin Paule, University of Florida School of Law

Best Oral Advocate: Nathan Jepson, George Washington University School of Law
Runner-Up for Best Oral Advocate: Kevin Paule, University of Florida School of Law

Best Brief:  David Lee Johnson and Kyle Virtue, Washington & Lee University School of Law (Team F)
Best Brief Runner-Up: Alicia Lee, Charles Pierre, and Monica Reid, Howard University School of Law (Team A)

Congratulations to the 12 newest Moot Court Board members!

The following students have been selected for membership on the Moot Court Board based on their UCC performance, writing ability, a written application, and an interview with the executive board.

Tony Batt
Luke Daniels
Sid Das
Zachary Deubler
Christopher Harris
Justin Hillman
Taylor Hoverman
Gabrielle Peters
Evan Purcell
Daniel Thayer Woislaw
Jay York
Jennifer Zielonis


First Time in 5 years, GMU makes it to Final Rounds of NYC Bar National Moot Court Competition

Congratulations to Ann Kossachev, Mary Grob, and Tyler Bezilla on advancing to the Finals of the NYC Bar National Moot Court Competition! The Team will face off against Wakeforest today at 2:00 p.m., and both finalists will represent Region IV in NYC in February! This is a huge achievement for Ann, Mary, and Tyler as well as for our Board, because it is the first time in five years that we have had a finalist in the NYC Bar contest! Great job you guys!

2014 Upper Class Competition Results

The 2014 Upper Class Competition Results are in:

Congratulations to the Winners of the 2014 Upper Class Competition: Lynzi Maas & Molly Picard!

 Winners 625 KB

Samantha Parker & Manmeet Dhindsa
Laura D’Agostino, Priyanka Bajaj, Anna Gentry, & Tom Hunt

Congratulations to all competitors, you each did a phenomenal job!

UCC Preliminary Rounds 2014 a Success!

Congratulations to all UCC Competitors, thank you for making the UCC a success! Congratulations to the following advancing competitors:

Tony Batt • Mike Bliley • Connor Cain • Shyla Clark • Emily Canis • Lucas Daniels • Sid Das • Peter Donohue • Barnabas Fekete • Rod Harrell • Justin Hillman • Lucy Meckley • Evan Purcell  • Stephanie Semler • James York • Jennifer Zielonis

Quarter Finalists
Zack Deubler • Meggan DeWitt • Paula Fleckenstein • Stephanie Groff • Monica Munin • Megan O’Donnell • Gabby Peters • Eamon Tierney

(Will compete at the Fairfax County Courthouse on 11/14 at 2:30pm)
Priyanka Bajaj • Laura D’Agostino • Manmeet Dhindsa • Anna Gentry • Tom Hunt • Lynzi Maas • Sam Parker •Molly Picard

GMU Moot Court Board Welcomes 19 New Members

The George Mason University is pleased to announce the following students have been selected for membership on the board:

Priyanka Bajaj
Connor Cain
Emily Canis
Shyla Clark
Laura D’Agostino
Meggan DeWitt
Manmeet Dhindsa
Peter Donohue
Paula Fleckenstein
Anna Gentry
Stephanie Groff
Rod Harrell
Tom Hunt
Lynzi Maas
Monica Munin
Megan O’Donnell
Samantha Parker
Molly Picard
Eamon Tierney

GMUSL Jessup Team Undefeated Through Quarters

Congratulations to the 2011-2012 GMUSL Jessup Team!

Maryam Elsayed, Andy Fiorillo, Peter Lewis, Megan Marinos, and Lauren Pomerantz were semi-finalists in last weekend’s Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition — Mid-Atlantic Regional.

The GMUSL Team went undefeated in the preliminary rounds of the competition. Out of 24 teams, the Team placed among the top three teams, advancing to the quarterfinals where they defeated the University of Maryland. After advancing to the semi-finals, the Team was defeated by Drexel University who went on to beat UVA to win the Regional Championship.

Of the ninety-six competitors, Lauren Pomerantz was named fifth best oralist overall. Every member of the GMU team had an average round score greater than ninety points (out of a possible 100).

More information about the Jessup Team can be found here.